Bob:

I would like to nominate Hsiao-hua Burke. She has had an outstanding career as a scientist and senior level manager at the MIT Lincoln Lab. She is a Fellow of the AIAA and actively involved in a leadership positions on several committees and activities for that organization.

Henry Garrett

Here's her Linkedin resume:

Dr. Hsiao-hua K. Burke is a Principal Staff in the Air and Missile Defense Technology Division at MIT Lincoln Laboratory. Most recently from 2009 to 2014, she served as the Head of that Division.

Dr. Burke joined Lincoln Laboratory in 1981 and has served in a number of leadership positions across the Laboratory, including leader of the Sensor Technology and System Applications Group, assistant head of the Tactical Systems Technology Division, associate head of the Aerospace Division, and head of the Air and Missile Defense Technology Division. In the last role, she provided leadership supporting the development of integrated ballistic missile defense systems for the Missile Defense Agency (MDA), air defense systems for the Navy, and prototype sensor development and data exploitation for intelligence programs.

In addition, Dr. Burke has served the Lincoln Laboratory community in many capacities: chairing the New Technology Initiatives Board (2006-2008), which engages the Laboratory community to identify latest user needs, capability drivers, and enabling technologies to support the Laboratory's mission areas; co-chairing a Decision Support Study (2009) to identify the Laboratory's future leadership role in this domain; and initiating the formation of a Technical Women's Network (LLTWN, 2008) to serve more than 300 technical women at the Laboratory and to promote diversity and inclusion in the workforce. For her involvement with LLTWN, she received a 2010 MIT Excellence Award for Fostering Diversity and Inclusion.

Dr. Burke is the recipient of 2001 NSSA Award for outstanding support and dedication on the Hyperspectral Strategy Study. In 2006, she was elected to the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board (AF SAB) and served as a member until 2010. As AF SAB member, she chaired, co-chaired, or participated in a total of seven national studies. In 2010, she received the Air Force Award for Meritorious Civilian Service for her outstanding service to the AF SAB.



Jet Propulsion Laboratory California Institute of Technology 4800 Oak Grove Dr. Pasadena, CA 91109-8099 Dr. Henry B. Garrett Mail Stop 156-206 Principal Scientist, Reliability Engineering Office C: (818) 862-0602 H: (818) 248-5343 Email: <u>henry.b.garrett@att.net</u> (preferred) Email: <u>Henry.B.Garrett@jpl.nasa.gov</u>