Outstanding Alumni

During the 35th SPAC reunion, held March 1999, the Space Physics & Astronomy department presented four "Outstanding Alumni" awards. For the 40th and 45th reunion, we added more winners plus three new categories: Outstanding Undergraduate and Outstanding Staff Members (regular and research staff). We will again have awards at the 50th reunion - here is the list of nominees for the 50th reunion. Voting will be held March 18-23 (ONLY). Here are the previous winners (not eligible).

Winners from the 35th reunion
1960s James Burch, Southwest Research Institute
1970s Stan Woosley, UC Santa Cruz
1980s J. Jeff Hester, Arizona State University
1990s Wei Peng, (then at: CHASE Manhattan Bank) Now at: Natixis Capital Markets

Winners from the 40th reunion
1960s C. Rick Chappell, Vanderbilt
1970s Jerry Fishman, MSFC
1980s Frank Toffoletto, Rice
1990s Dana Crider, GSFC
2000s Andrew Urquhart, Raytheon
Undergraduate Rick Feinberg, Publisher, Sky and Telescope Magazine
Research Staff Bob Spiro
Support Staff Umbe Cantu, former Dept. Secretary (now RSI Administrator and Physics & Astronomy Administrator)

Winners from the 45th reunion
1960s David Cummings, USRA
1970s Richard Vondrak, GSFC
1980s Eileen Stansberry, JSC
1990s Gang Lu, NOAA HAO
2000s Takao Doi, Japanese Astronaut
Undergraduate Jay Anderson, Space Telescope Science Lab
Research Staff Del Oehme
Support Staff Norma Cowley and Maria Byrne